In My Absence

Once again it’s been a long time since I have been active in maintaining my blog. I am restarting it again and I have also been posting videos on my YouTube page again. I’ll put the link at the bottom. Right now they have been supplement reviews but at least I’m getting active with it again.

A lot has changed since my last post. I don’t remember if I mentioned that I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis and have been receiving IV infusions for it. UC has changed my life and I am trying to adapt to the changes as best as I can but it is not easy. It starts with the food I eat. A lot of the food I used to eat I had to give up. I can’t eat lettuce so salads are out as are most fruits and vegetables. I gave up peanuts and peanut butter, almost all dairy, I try to avoid bread and gluten. It is not easy. Some things that don’t affect me today when I have it will hurt me the next time I try it. It’s really hard to predict how and what will set it off.

I’ve been in an active “flare” for over a year. It has made doing the simplest things difficult and has caused a lot of embarrassing times and uncomfortable situations. It is hard for me to go to the gym because I keep having to run to the locker room and when I get back someone else is using the machine I vacated. This has caused me to buy my own gym equipment for my garage but I still go to the gym when I travel for work. (more on that part of my life in future posts).

This blog is going to be more than a place for me to post about my working out, it’s going to be a place for me to open up about being healthy and dealing with my UC while pushing myself every day. I will still be posting reviews of supplements and other things and posts from my YouTube vlog as well as stories about me, my wife and my dog Chance. They are my rock and safe place throughout all of this.

So stay tuned for more.

Average Steve’s Fitness Vlog

Leave a comment