Worked Out Without the Preworkout

So I decided to workout last night without my preworkout and my bcaa. I wanted to see what the result would be and to see if there would be a difference in my performance and how I felt throughout the workout.

The first thing I noticed was that my motivation was way down. I didn’t have the rush that I usually get from the pre-workout and I feel that it stopped or prevented me from getting into the mood to be at the gym. I had to find the motivation to push through do the reps.

My strength was there,  I didn’t have to reduce any of the weight for any of my exercises. In some cases I even increased the weight but that could have been part of my regular routine and when I generally increase the weight.

One of the big things that I did notice was that recovery took longer.  My break between sets and exercises was longer than usual which led to my workout taking more time. Not a big fan of sitting around at the gym but workout my bcaa and preworkout, the longer break was needed.

I also noticed that my focus was off. Usually I could snap into the mode but it took longer this time to get there and in some cases I started my set without the focus that I would have liked. My preworkout always helped with this and it was surely missed.

In short,  my experiment showed me that I still have the strength and energy to compete my workout without sacrifice but that it will take longer and I will have to put in an extra effort in order to reach completion,  but maybe this will help my gains.

6 thoughts on “Worked Out Without the Preworkout

  1. I became dependent on preworkouts for a while. The motivation definitely wasn’t the same. I hated depending on it to workout so I slowly weaned myself off and only take my vegan one occasionally. If I am really feeling in need of a jolt I drink a cup of coffee ( no cream, no sugar) before going to workout.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t want to say that I’m dependent on them but nobody likes to admit things. I probably am, I can still go to the gym without preworkouts and be successful but before I started taking them I had no motivation and when I go without them now it feels like the mind wants to go but the rest of me is like, eh? My hope is to eventually wean myself off them and still feel as good as I do when I am on them. I make it sound like a drug lol I hate coffee too much to try it and tea doesn’t really affect me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

